Member Sign In

Lost your password?

Illinois Rural solar ground breaking

Illinois Rural Electric Cooperative held a ground breaking for its 500 kilowatt solar facility which is being built south of Winchester on Illinois Highway 106, next to one of the substations that serves the cooperative’s 7,800 members. The complete solar array will cover four acres. At full capacity, it could ...Read More

Jo-Carroll, Farmers Mutual Complete Merger

Two electric cooperatives in northwest Illinois have merged to serve a combined 21,372 electric members. Elizabeth, Ill.-based Jo-Carroll Energy and Geneseo, Ill.-based Farmers Mutual Electric—the state's oldest electric cooperative—completed the merger on March 31. The integrated cooperative will operate as Jo-Carroll Energy, a 100-percent CFC borrower. The newly joined system ...Read More

Carson meets with Rep. Shimkus

Phil Carson, (left) Vice President of the Tri-County Electric Cooperative Board of Directors, and Duane Noland, (right) President/CEO of the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives met with Congressman John Shimkus (R-15) in April. They discussed national and local energy issues as well as other issues impacting rural Illinois. Shimkus serves on the Committee on Energy and Commerce, the ...Read More

High Satisfaction for Co-op Members

The latest numbers from the American Customer Satisfaction Index show that the phrase "the cooperative difference" is real. ACSI annually surveys around 70,000 consumers to get their attitudes toward more than 200 companies. Touchstone Energy® member co-ops scored an 83 in the first quarter of 2013, part of ACSI's report ...Read More

Retired AIEC Employee Bikes from Louisiana to Illinois

Retired AIEC Member Services Rep Don Van Houten, recently dropped by Southern Illinois Electric Cooperative as he was riding his bicycle from Hammond, LA. Don is an outstanding athlete. At 68 years old, he has completed 56 marathons and walked the Appalachian Trail. When he arrives home in Springfield, he ...Read More

AIEC Awarded Gold Incident Rate Excellence Award

Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives of Springfield, IL was awarded a Gold Incident Rate Excellence award from the Iowa-Illinois Safety Council during their 60th Annual Professional Development Conference and Expo held in Coralville, IA, April 10-12, 2013. The award was presented for outstanding achievement in accident prevention during the 2012 ...Read More

National Lineman Appreciation Day Resolution Passes US Senate

  113th CONGRESS 1st Session S. RES. 95 Recognizing linemen, the profession of linemen, the contributions of these brave men and women who protect public safety, and expressing support for the designation of April 18, 2013, as National Lineman Appreciation Day. IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES April 10, ...Read More

Egyptian Telephone Cooperative Association Holds Annual Meeting

Members of Egyptian Telephone Cooperative received updates on the co-op’s business during its 59th Annual Meeting held Friday, April 5th, at the American Legion Hall in Steeleville. Egyptian Telephone is owned and operated by its members, and governed by an elected board of directors. This year, members re-elected to three-year ...Read More

MJM Electric Cooperative’s outage requires activation of IEC Emergency Work Plan

The IEC Emergency Work Plan was activated on April 10 by MJM Electric Cooperative in Carlinville after a massive wind and thunderstorm moved through knocking down 28 three phase poles and causing other outages. Illinois Rural Electric of Winchester and Rural Electric Convenience Cooperative of Auburn sent crews in response ...Read More

Central Illinois Autism Therapeutic Services Receives GeoAlliance Grant

A $4,533 GeoAlliance grant was presented on Wednesday, April 10, to Central Illinois Autism Therapeutic Services (CIATS). The grant will help to offset the cost of the highly energyefficient geothermal heating and cooling system that was recently installed in the facility. GeoAlliance is collaboration between the Association of Illinois Electric ...Read More