One scholarship in the amount of $2,000 will be awarded each year.

Scholarship applicant must be:

  • A relative of an employee or director of an Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives (AIEC) member electric cooperative (“Relative” is defined as son, daughter, stepson, stepdaughter, niece, nephew, brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, cousin, uncle or aunt, grandchild); or
  • A son or daughter of an AIEC member electric cooperative member/consumer (who resides in Illinois and is currently receiving service from the cooperative at the time the scholarship application is submitted); or
  • A Veteran (defined broadly as someone who has served or is currently serving at the time of application in the active military, naval, or air service, or their Reserve components, including the National and Air National Guard, and was not dishonorably discharged); or
  • A student enrolled in the electric distribution lineworker programs at Lincoln Land Community College.

Scholarship winner must begin the program within a year of receiving the award.

Scholarships are for one year and winners are allowed to reapply.

Scholarships will be awarded based on a short essay, biographical statement, and references.

Deadline for receipt of complete applications and submissions is April 30, 2022.

Scholarship winner will be notified early June 2022.

The recipient of the scholarship also authorizes the AIEC to publish his or her name and photo in future promotions of the LaVern and Nola McEntire Memorial Lineworker’s Scholarship.

Scholarship will be awarded to the applicant for tuition, fees and required equipment in attending Lincoln Land Community College Electrical Distribution Lineworker programs (Electrical Distribution Lineworker Maintenance Certificate; and Electrical Distribution Lineworker Associates in Applied Science).

For information on the LaVern and Nola McEntire Memorial Scholarship, please contact:

Thad France, Manager of Lineworker & Apprentice Development
Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives
P.O. Box 3787
Springfield, IL 62708
Phone: 217/820‐2487

Kristin Banks, Legal & Government Relations Coordinator
Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives
Phone: 217/241-7924

[efsbutton style=”” size=”” color_class=”” align=”left” type=”link” target=”false” title=”Apply Online ” link=””]