State Senator Dale Fowler (R-Harrisburg, 59th District) received the Illinois Electric Cooperatives’ 2019 Public Service Award on Dec. 3 at SouthEastern Illinois Electric Cooperative office in Carrier Mills. The award was made in recognition of Sen. Fowler’s dedicated public service to all citizens of the state of Illinois and for outstanding contributions to the rural electrification program.

Sen. Fowler has been a supporter of Illinois electric cooperatives and their member-owners on a wide variety of issues related to the cooperative program to support sustainable, affordable and reliable electricity. Additionally, he has supported efforts to advance economic opportunities and improve the quality of life for rural residents.

Sen. Fowler’s 59th Senatorial District includes the distribution service territory of SouthEastern Illinois Electric Cooperative, Egyptian Electric Cooperative Association, Southern Illinois Electric Cooperative, Wayne-White Counties Electric Cooperative and generation cooperative Southern Illinois Power Cooperative.

Photo: Senator Dale Fowler receives the Illinois Electric Cooperatives’ 2019 Public Service Award. l to r, row 1: Duane Noland, president/CEO, Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives (AIEC); Steve Prest, Egyptian Electric Cooperative Association (EECA) board president; Sen. Fowler, Joe Marlo, SouthEastern Illinois Electric (SEIEC) board member; Stefanie Tripp, SEIEC administrative assistant; Dustin Tripp, SEIEC president/CEO; James Smith and Justin Webb, SEIEC attorneys. Second row: Brad Austin, EECA engineering/operations manager; Shane Hermetz, EECA general manager; Nick Reitz, AIEC vice president of government relations; Don Gulley, president/CEO, Southern Illinois Power Cooperative; Daryl Donjon, president/CEO, Wayne-White Counties Electric Cooperative, Inc.; Greg Cruse, SEIEC administrative and finance manager; and Scott Ury, AIEC board secretary and Southern Illinois Electric Cooperative board member.