Member Sign In

Lost your password?

2019 AIEC Annual Meeting

  • August 1, 2019 - August 2, 2019
    7:30 am - 11:00 pm


Power for the Generations

During the past 78 years, the AIEC has seen our industry and factors that affect every aspect of how our association and co-ops conduct business evolve at a dizzying rate. Several of these issues will be addressed at the AIEC annual meeting.

The need to balance power supply and affordability is escalating. In their panel discussion, Moderator President/CEO Jay Bartlett and panelists SIPC President/CEO Don Gulley; Prairie Power President/CEO Eric Hobbie, and ACES President/CEO Michael Steffes, will assess the current electric landscape and discuss how it could look in the future.

High-profile malfeasance cases at co-ops have far-reaching implications. In their presentations, NRECA Immediate Past President Phil Carson and South Carolina Statewide EVP Lou Green will focus on the increasing importance of solid governance and due diligence in the boardroom, and the consequences of not keeping it in check.

Engaging elected officials who fight for fair regulations and laws to preserve the cooperative business model and rural America will be stressed during the Directors’ Course on grassroots planning, the ACRE Breakfast, ACRE’s Leadership Circle and President’s Club Reception and Public Service Award presentations.

Safety is firmly entrenched at every co-op. NRECA Director of Safety programs Bud Branham and AIEC Manager of Regulatory Compliance Cortney Graham will focus on cooperative leadership’s role in providing a safe working environment for employees and members.

The decreasing rural population impacts our local communities, our co-ops and agriculture. McClure Engineering Principal Community Placemaker Zachary Mannheimer will detail his team’s work to revitalize small towns through cultural and entrepreneurial concepts, and Illinois Director of Agriculture John Sullivan will provide an update on the agricultural landscape and its economic impact on the global economy.

The importance of building a strong and stable future for tomorrow’s leaders will be underscored by the 2019 Youth Leadership Council Representative’s address and the Thomas H. Moore IEC Memorial Scholarship presentations. With the generation shift in our workforce, the need for bright young people like these to return to their rural roots to work and raise their families has never been greater.

Yes, we have many challenges, but the important work the AIEC and our member co-ops are doing to overcome them will be the power that sustains our co-ops, communities and generations to come.





Overall Meeting Details

Nancy McDonald
(217) 241-7954

Online Registration

Jennifer Sours
(217) 241-7920

Silent/Live Auction

Valerie Cheatham
(217) 241-7952

Ambyr Crawford
(217) 241-7928


Voting Credentials

Christina Harper
(217) 241-7925

Connie Newenham
(217) 241-7943

Ladies’ Event

Christina Harper
(217) 241-7925





Nick Reitz
(217) 241-7914

Kristin Banks
(217) 241-7924

Directors’ Course

Mary Zitek
(217) 241-7934

Our Sponsors

  • CoBank

  • G&W Engineered to order. Build to last

Our Associate Members

A Star Electric Company • Allgeier, Martin & Associates, Inc. • Altec Industries, Inc. • Anixter, Inc. • BHMG Engineers • Brownstown Electric Supply Co. Inc., • CBM, Inc. • Central Illinois Reclosers, Inc. • CFC • CoBank • Cooperative Response Center, Inc. • Crop Production Services/Timberland Division • Davis Financial Group • Drake-Scruggs Equipment, Inc. • Eaton’s Cooper Power Systems • Emerald Transformer • Energis High Voltage Resources • Ervin Cable Construction, LLC • Federated Rural Electric Insurance Exchange • Fletcher-Reinhart Company • G&W Electric Company • J.F. Electric, Inc. • J.J. Kane Auctioneers • JM Test Systems, Inc. • JULIE, Inc. • Lee Inspection & Consulting Services, Inc. • LSC Communications • Lynn Elliott Company • McFarland Cascade Holdings • Michels Corporation • Millennium • NISC • NovaTech • NRTC • Nutrien Ag Solutions • Osmose Utilities Services, Inc. • Power Line Supply • Power Trunk, Inc. • Premier Power Maintenance • Purple Wave Auction • Red River Specialties, Inc. •Ronk Electrical Industries, Inc. • S&C Electric • Sensus USA • Solomon Corporation • T & R Electric Supply Co., Inc. • Terex Utilities • The L.E. Meyers Co. • The Okonite Company • Toth & Associates, Inc. • United Utility Supply Cooperative, Inc. • Utility Design Services • Vantage Point • Vermeer Midwest • Volkert, Inc. • Wright Tree Service • Zoll Medical Corporation

Cancellation Policy:

Cancellations made prior to the registration deadline will not be charged. Cancellation made after July 17 will be charged for meals reserved for attendees and guests as follows:

  • Board Chairs’/Board Presidents’ Breakfast ($25) (if applicable)
  • Leaders’ Luncheon ($35)
  • ACRE Breakfast ($25)

Meeting “no-shows” will be charged the $325 registration fee, the Board Chairs’/Board Presidents’ Breakfast (if applicable) and any guest meals for which they were registered. Substitutions are allowed.



Venue Phone: (217) 529-7777

3000 S Dirksen Parkway
United States