Over 800 members and guests attended the 75th Annual Meeting of the Membership of Clay Electric Co-operative, Inc. on August 22 at Oil Belt Christian Service Camp in Flora.

Board President Richard Rudolphi welcomed members and introduced the board of directors and their wives. He introduced Luke Johnson, CEO of Clay Electric Co-operative, and turned over the meeting to him.

Three directors were elected to three-year terms on Clay Electric Co-operative’s Board of Directors. Left to right: Kevin Logan (District 3), Frank Herman (District 9) and Neil Gould (District 1).

Luke Johnson, an employee with twenty years of experience at the cooperative who was appointed CEO early in 2019, took over the meeting. Kylie Rauch was invited to perform the National Anthem. Luke Johnson lead the Pledge of Allegiance and gave the invocation before turning the business meeting over to Tyra Cycholl, attorney for the cooperative.

Three directors were elected to three-year terms on Clay Electric Co-operative’s Board of Directors. These included Neil Gould for District 1, Kevin Logan for District 3, and Frank Herman for District 9.

Johnson thanked the employees and board of Clay Electric for their excellent work and continued dedication. “Our construction crew is currently rebuilding lines in the Xenia area,” said Johnson, “We ask for patience from our members and that you slow down and move over if you encounter one of our work crews. Safety is our number one priority.”

Johnson discussed the cooperative’s part in the future of green energy. Illinois has put policies in place to hit 25% renewable energy by 2025 and 100% by 2050. Illinois cooperatives currently have an energy portfolio with 11% renewable energy compared to investor-owned utilities at 7%. “We are ‘pro-common sense’ when it comes to developing energy policy,” said Johnson. “This means that we work to promote green energy without shifting cost to members who cannot afford it.”

Clay Electric Cooperative is a not-for-profit, member-owned electric cooperative and member of Touchstone Energy – an alliance of 750 electric utilities around the country. Clay Electric Cooperative proudly serves over 3,200 meters in Clay, Effingham, Fayette, Jasper, Marion, Richland, and Wayne counties. Visit www.ceci.coop for more information.