Adams electric co-op to receive grant for renewable energy project

Adams Electric Cooperative’s Green Energy Project was selected as one of 19 community-led clean energy projects across 12 states and 13 tribal nations and communities to receive more than $78 million to develop and deploy sustainable clean energy solutions and expand access to reliable and affordable energy in rural and remote communities across the country. […]

Spotlight on Excellence

Three G&Ts that provide power to distribution cooperatives in Illinois recently received Spotlight on Excellence awards from the Council of Rural Electric Communications (CREC). Dairyland Power Cooperative was named Gold Winner for Best Special Publication – Large (More than 8 pages) for its “Dairyland Excellence Model: A Guide to Understanding and Achieving Excellence.” Wabash Valley […]

Rock Energy holds 88th annual meeting

Rock Energy Cooperative held its 88th Annual Meeting on Monday, April 8, 2024, at the Eclipse Center in Beloit, Wis. Total attendance was 399, representing 215 co-op members. During the meeting, 2024 Rock Energy director elections results were announced for districts 1, 3 and 5. Presiding over the elections was attorney Niles Berman. Directors elected […]

Leaders of tomorrow represent their electric and telephone co-ops on Youth Day

For more than 60 years, the electric and telephone cooperatives of Illinois have given tomorrow’s leaders the opportunity to learn from today’s public officials. On March 20, more than 200 students from across rural Illinois represented 25 co-ops during Youth Day. “Youth Day gives students across the state an up-close look at democracy in action […]

Furtak named president/CEO of SIPC

Southern Illinois Power Cooperative’s (SIPC’s) board of directors has selected Paul Furtak as the cooperative’s next president and chief executive officer, effective immediately. “The board and senior staff at SIPC are elated. We knew Paul was the right fit for the role, and we are looking forward to continuing our shared journey into tomorrow,” said […]

Van Dyke represents Illinois during PowerXchange

The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association’s annual PowerXchange conference, held this year March 4-6 in San Antonio, Texas, is the largest annual gathering of electric co-op leaders. While the conference is designed to discuss and embrace the challenges of the ever-changing electric industry, it also highlights future leaders. One of those leaders present this year […]

Bernson, Mirasola honored for their service

Two employees who serve Illinois electric cooperatives were nationally recognized for their service in promoting the cooperative difference and supporting the growth of Touchstone Energy Cooperative. Kevin Bernson of Shelby Electric Cooperative (SEC) and Deb Mirasola of Dairyland Power Cooperative were presented with Touchstone Energy’s Distinguished Service Awards during the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association’s […]

Cook joins AIEC Member Services Department

On Monday, March 4, Doug Cook started as AIEC’s new audio visual coordinator. He graduated from Illinois State University with a degree in creative technologies and currently lives in Bloomington. At the AIEC, he will be the primary sound guy for co-op annual meetings, create video content for all departments, and provide IT and member […]

New year, new name for local co-op

In January of this year, Jo-Carroll Energy rebranded to become JCE Co-op. The new name reflects the cooperative’s history and brings one name to all the services it provides to members.  The name of the co-op’s internet service, Sand Prairie, also changed to JCE Co-op fiber.  “As the co-op has grown, we’ve developed a mix […]

Adams Electric Cooperative GM longest-serving Safe Electricity board member

Jim Thompson honored by EEC/Safe Electricity With nearly 20 years of dedication to the Energy Education Council (EEC)/Safe Electricity organization, Jim Thompson, general manager of Adams Electric Cooperative in Camp Point, Ill., was honored as the longest-serving board member on December 6 in Springfield. He was recognized for his service on the board and his […]